Transitionings

 I went out this morning and took the Blessed Mabon wreath off the front door and replaced it with  the regular Autumn one to which I had attached a few  scary things. I stuck  capes and masks on my scarecrows and pumpkins and hung purple and orange lights in my windows. Some spider webbing in the corners and the witch in the rocker and I’m set for HALLOWEEN. Since the kids have grown up and moved away I basically decorate once in the early fall and just kind of add and take away a few things to make it look different for each Pagan Holiday and Non Pagan festivity  until around December 1st. Then I do the same thing for the Winter season and its Celebrations..
I also never actually throw anything away until it begins looking like a fugitive from the depression era – I just  change things out; I discard or change some things from previous years and add something different – usually from the Dollar Tree. For example my main theme last year was Autumn Fairies and I used a lot of my Fairy Houses and creatures dressed in bright fall colors but I sold a bunch of that stuff at the Street Festival before I left St Augustine so I had to make new wreaths and decorations for this year.
I started gathering grasses and pine cones and things in July when I got to Vermont and by Lughnasa or Lughnassadh I had  everything ready. This is the preharvest festival, the turning point in Mother Earth’s year. The last herbs are gathered. It is a celebration in honor of the god Lugh’s wedding to Mother Earth. It is celebrated August 1st on ‘The Pagan Calender’. A quick trip to the Dollar Tree and I had decided to use scarecrows (and of course the crows) as my theme this year.
ghhh
Around September 10th I added gourds and pumpkins and a couple of scales to represent the balance of light and dark in honor of the Autumn Equinox or Mabon, about September 21. Mabon  was a time of rest after labor, completion of the harvest. Again the hours of day and night are in balance, with the darkness increasing. All preparations for the dark of the year and the year’s ending were made, thus bringing us back to Samhain and Halloween which is what I did this morning.
Samhain, pronounced sow-en and called Halloween today, is the ending of the Celtic year. The Celtic new year actually begins at sunset on October 31. This ritual is known as Ancestor Night or Feast of the Dead. Because the veil between the worlds is thinnest on this night, it was and is considered an excellent time for divinations. Feasts are made in remembrance of dead ancestors and as an affirmation of continuing life. A time for settling problems, throwing out old ideas and influences. This is  celebrated October 31.
ccc
This is a previous post on Halloween and Samhain that I wrote last week – it goes into a little more detail on the celebration if you’re interested.
jkio
I thought I’d take a moment here and post a few videoes just to get you in the mood. I assure you I will be posting more in the upcoming weeks. HALLOWEEN IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE HOLIDAYS.

silly symphony – the skeleton dance 1929 disney short

and who could make it through Halloween without Michael Jackson and his epic THRILLER
OK; one more for now. Remember this one?
Enough on Samhain and Halloween for now. When this night of Celebration of the Macabre’ comes to an end I will turn off my lights and replace all my creepy crawlies with miniature turkeys and cornucopias and such even though we don’t celebrate Thanksgiving any more then we celebrate Columbus day – and for the same reasons but that will be the subject of another post. We do gather together as a family; usually the first weekend of the month but in celebration of the final harvest and not to commemorate a celebration of genocide.

Thanksgiving is some Native Americans’ ‘Day of Mourning’

kj

November comes
And November goes,
With the last red berries
And the first white snows.

With night coming early,
And dawn coming late,
And ice in the bucket
And frost by the gate.

The fires burn
And the kettles sing,
And earth sinks to rest
Until next spring.”
–  Elizabeth Coatsworth

The first of December in my family marks the winter season and the autumn colors are put away for another year as preparation for Yule and the other winter festivities begin.

dd

Leave a Reply

