Never Alone

Tomorrow would have been Ron’s 69th birthday which is why you see the re-post of I’ll Meet You At The Crossroads in a previous post today and also the reason for this post. It’s not exactly a poem more like a conversation with the man I’ve  loved for more then 30 years. HAPPY BIRTHDAY RON.

1148869_1461195857443330_1028562188_n

Never Alone

Even though you’re not here,
I still look to you for advice
For companionship
and for comfort when I feel alone.
I still turn over in the dark of night
and reach for you, my heart
and for just a moment
you’re there.
It seems like only yesterday
we walked the wooded paths
of the countryside
together hand in hand.
You were my rock then
I blinked my eyes
on that Easter Sunday morning
and you were gone
My life was empty;
I wanted to Give Up
But I heard you say
“I’m here, My Love
I know you’re strong; you’ll carry on
until you’ve finished the work we started”
You took my hand
On that first long night
While I cried myself to sleep
You caressed my cheek
and I heard you say
“I’m still here and here I’ll stay
Until I’m no longer needed.”
Many years have passed since you crossed over
and yes I’m carrying on
because I know in my heart
You’ll always be here

when ever I call
I am truly
NEVER ALONE.

b53d8772786ee1e6582eeaea180859e4imagesimagesb

2 thoughts on “Never Alone

Leave a Reply

