Year 2: Day 1 – I’ll Start A Fire

and when we’ve set the world ablaze
I’ll burn
all by myself.

ALONE

Charlotte Cuevas

I’ll start a fire in this little place
to match the one in my head
and keep me warm

and when the yearning pounds me out
I’ll let it loose
and set it far.

I’ll start a fire in this huddled town
to search for similar flames
to keep me warm

and when the ashes yield no fruit
I’ll stoke it on,
I’ll force it out.

I’ll spread the fire, I’ll burn down the world
to find through the smoke
a match like the one
in my head.

I’ll burn through the world
to find the arsonists
with the power to keep us warm

and when we’ve set the world ablaze
I’ll burn
all by myself.

Don’t forget to check out my first anthology, Candy Pizza: Poetry that’s Fun and Healthy, available on Amazon & Kindle.

View original post

Leave a Reply

