MY ROAD TRIP SO FAR

JUST A THOUGHT BEFORE I GET STARTED: If I were to give some early but free advice to anyone traveling for pleasure and without time restrictions my first piece would be

STAY OFF THE INTERSTATES: THE BACK ROADS ARE MORE BEAUTIFUL, FRIENDLIER, AND OH SO MUCH MORE INTERESTING -MORE ADVICE TO FOLLOW LATER.

I traveled from Vermont to Florida;  camping, pulling over often to just sight see and look at things, and taking photos (even if I didn’t manage to get any that came out) so since I can’t show you what I found interesting I guess I’ll just tell you about a couple of them and maybe post some photos from the web – thank The Goddess for Google – Ready?

VERMONT

download

I don’t usually count my road trip as actually started until I cross the state line of whatever state I leave from BUT: since Newport/Derby is at the very top of Vermont (less then 2 miles from the Canadian Border) this time I have made an exception.

download (4)

pic_feat_05

After a stop in Waterbury at Ben and Jerry’s ( http://www.yelp.com/biz/ben-and-jerrys-waterbury-4 )  which I had promised myself I’d visit before I left and a few hours in Burlington ( http://www.nytimes.com/2008/11/02/travel/02hours.html?_r=0 ) at The Old Hippie Fair I drove down 16 and cut across to St. Johnsbury on 2 and into New Hampshire.

images           ls

NEW HAMPSHIRE

download

I’ve said over and over how beautiful Vermont is but if I were to be honest with you – my readers – and myself they pale in comparison to The White Mountains of New Hampshire.

images      images (6)

http://www.visitwhitemountains.com/things-to-do

I spent most of my time in this state just admiring the wild life (including the moose I had a short but enlightening conversation with in the middle of a dirt road) and the wilderness itself where I spent my time camping and praising The Goddess before getting on I 95 and heading south into Massachusetts. http://www.interstate-guide.com/i-095.html

images (3)   images (5)   images (4)   images (2)

New Hampshire has loads of covered bridges and history and I think I saw it all (YA RIGHT). I also saw enough mud to last me a month but I guess it’s good for your skin. Anyway here are a few photos – again thanks to google – and I actually hated to leave it.

images (1)

Let’s close here for now and I will continue the next time with my journey down the I 95 Toll Turnpike Corridor beginning at the Massachusetts state line.

MA19790952t100950

Leave a Reply

