MASSACHUSSETS TO SOUTH CAROLINA WITHOUT LEAVING I 95

Once back on I 95 I headed south through the remainder of Massachussets into Connecticut, and over the state line into New York making a stop or two to get gas or something to eat and drink and stretch my legs – it was a pleasant drive and I saw some nice scenery from the highway but never once left I 95.

FL19790952t100950

Finally about 8:30pm I stopped at a rest area and dozed for a few hours waiting for the traffic to thin out before entering New York City which means it was full dark by the time I reached there. 95 kind of goes around and over the urban areas so I had a perfect view of the city’s skyline. I don’t remember the city being this pretty when I was here in ’69 or ’70 but  I had other priorities back then.

With NYC behind me I passed through New Jersey and into Pennsylvania before stopping again then on through Deleware, Maryland, and Virginia. I thought about making a stop in DC but I was there at about the same time I was in NYC and have been there several times since – the dedication of The Vietnam Memorial and a Peace Rally in ’75 so I passed on that and made a stop in North Carolina at a beach for a swim and some dinner just past the last toll booth before driving on into South Carolina and stopping for the night at The Santee Wildlife Refuge in Summerton

download (1)

download (2)   images  images (1)  download  images (4)images (6)

  http://www.sciway.net/sc-photos/clarendon-county/santee-wildlife-refuge.html.

http://www.fws.gov/uploadedFiles/Santee%20Indian%20Mound%20Rev%20Jun%202008.pdf

images (16)  images (15)  images (10)  images (11)  images (12)  images (9)

The next morning I spent about 3 hours exploring it and the Indian Mounds at Fort Watson then got back on 95 and drove into Georgia and finally across the stateline into Jacksonville, Florida where I encountered my first actual detour and managed to “loose” my billfold.

Leave a Reply

